www.gt4dc.co.uk
Maintain, Modify and DRIVE your GT-Four

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:43 am

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 4:17 pm 
New Poster

Car Model: None
I've just begun to design some of the electrical system of my pending build and am wondering about the legality for use on UK roads of a "race dash" setup. I am designing this to be a hybrid road/track car, so by this term I mean the original gauge cluster being removed and replaced by a digital LCD unit, the steering column stalks and ignition barrel being removed and replaced by switches, buttons and LED units on a bespoke dash panel and the fuse box being replaced by breakers on the dash. I have no experience of this whatsoever and therefore no clue as to whether or not this would be considered road legal. Any pointers appreciated!

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 5:08 pm 
Group B

As far as I'm aware, you need a means of reading vehicle speed (may need to be readable in direct sunlight) and you also need an odometer - i.e. a non-resettable miles counter.

Some useful info on this thread -

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6240

This is one of the better known 'race dash' type setups, which uses an old fashioned needle type for the main indication.

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 5:32 pm 
Club Staff

Car Model: ST205
I don't think an odometer is a legal requirement per se. But I think you would have issues come sale time as it will obviously have unknown mileage which will deter a lot of buyers

However the new MOT sheets and the computer system might take offense come test time - you might be able to shoot the DVLA a question to clarify that

An odoureater on the other hand is a legal requirement in cars owned by me :lol:

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:15 pm 
New Poster